Some of our most frequently asked questions have to deal with renting a jet ski in Destin. Florida has strict rules and requirements for jet ski rentals, and we’re going to go over some of them here today to answer any question that you may have about renting a jet ski in Destin.
If you’ve come to this page for jet ski rental rate information, please visit our jet ski rental page.
How old do you need to be to rent a jet ski in Destin?
Florida law requires that you be 18 years old to rent a jet ski. However, even if you are 18, if you were born after Jan 1, 1988, you are also required to pass a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) course and have in your possession a boating education ID card and a photo ID (such as a driver’s license). Identification cards for people who complete the course are good for life. You can get a free Florida Boater’s Safety card from Boat USFoundation. Or, if you are just here for vacation, you can get a temporary certificate through certain vendors for a fee. The temporary certificate is valid for 12 months from the date of issue.
If you are younger than 18, but have someone onboard the jet ski with you that either was born before Jan 1, 1988 or has the required Boater’s education card, you may ride on the jet ski with them, but they must be responsible for the operation of the jet ski.
It is important to note that even though the laws are clearly spelled out, it is up to the discretion of each rental operator to determine the minimum age they will rent to (providing that they are not in violation of the law), so your mileage may vary with different rental companies. It’s best to call first and ask if you are unsure of the rules at a particular rental facility.
Safety Requirements for Jet Ski Rentals
A rental operation is not allowed to rent a jet ski that does not have proper safety equipment on board, exceeds the recommended engine horsepower or load capacity (as stated on the capacity plate), or is not seaworthy. The facility must provide pre-rental instructions on the safe operation of the jet ski. All renters that are required by law to have a boater education ID card (see above), must have the card or its equivalent in their possession and display it before the facility may rent to them. Jet ski rental operators must provide an on-the-water demonstration and a check ride to evaluate the proficiency of renters. All rental companies must display boating safety information in a place visible to the renting public. The information must include: propulsion, steering and stopping characteristics of jet pump vessels, the location and content of warning labels, and how to properly re-board a jet ski. This instruction also must include the applicable Navigational Rules to jet ski operation, problems with visibility and being seen by other boaters, reckless operation, noise, nuisance, and environmental concerns while operating the jet ski on Florida waters.
Life vests and lanyards
Each person operating, riding on, or being towed behind a jet ski must wear an approved non-inflatable Type I, II, III, or V personal flotation device (PFD). Inflatable PFDs are not allowed for personal watercraft use. Your rental company will provide these for you.
The operator of a jet ski must attach the engine cutoff switch lanyard to his/her person, clothing or PFD. This stops the engine should you fall off while riding the jet ski.
Jet skis may not be operated from 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise, even if navigation lights are used, due to decreased visibility.
Reckless and Careless Operation
The majority of jet ski accidents occur through reckless operation of a jet ski (which is why the rules for renting a jet ski are so strict). We want you to be as safe as possible, so keep in mind that maneuvering a personal watercraft by weaving through congested boat traffic, jumping the wake of another vessel unreasonably close or when visibility around the vessel is obstructed, or swerving at the last possible moment to avoid hitting another vessel is classified as reckless operation of a vessel (a first-degree misdemeanor).
Generally, a little common sense goes a long way, so just remember to be safe, courteous to others, and keep an eye out for other traffic and you’re sure to have a good time!
If you have any questions about the rules and requirements of renting a jet ski in Destin, contact us through our contact form or leave a comment below!
Is there a weight limit for each person? We would have three people,
Husband is 240 pounds, my son is 230 pounds, and I am 150 pounds.
Hi Robin, The weight limit is 500lbs OR 3 people, whichever comes first. Hope that helps!
Do you allow tubing to be towed by a jet ski? What are the rules/requirements for that? Do you have tube rentals and if so what is the pricing?
Do you provide life jackets?
Hi Ashley, We do not allow tubes to be pulled behind jet skis at this time. The tow rope can get stuck in the jet drive and can sink the ski. Life jackets are included in the rental price. Thanks for the question!
Are you allowed to pickup and drop off passengers from a beach?
NO, sorry, for liability reasons any jet ski passengers must be present at check-in to ride.
Since some marinas dont allow commercial buasines to be conducted. Are you allowed to check in your riders at another location than a dock?
We only rent from locations where commercial activity is allowed. Beware of any company operating from a private dock…
Hi quick question if you do not pass the safety course at a jet ski rental place in fl than you cannot operate a jet ski correct? What is the law on that if you do. Thank you!
If you were born after Jan 1, 1988 and you do not pass the test then you will not be able to rent the jet ski.
Can my kids (16 and 18) take the online NC Boater Safety course in lieu of the 30-45 minute onsite test and still rent jet ski’s?
We can accept a Boater’s Test from another state as long as that license has the NASBLA logo present. Your 18 year old will be able to drive solo. Your 16 year old must be accompanied by someone 18 or older.
I saw if you are there temporarily for vacation you can just buy a certificate rather than doing the test. Where are these certificates available?
HI Kristen, you can’t buy a certificate, but you can pay to take the test for a temporary card. The on-site test takes about 30 minutes and is good for one year. The online test is free, takes 3 hours, and is good for life (note: you must have your card physically in your possession or you will have to pay to retest). Hope that helps!
Hello is there a link to take the 3 hour online course?
Yes, the link is https://www.boatus.org/florida/ . HTH!
If 2 people get on the jet ski only the driver needs to complete the boat course correct?
That is correct!
Are you still renting out the jet skis and exactly how much is it. I’m planing on coming July 25th me and my wife annaversary.
SO 2 people can ride at one Time
Great Post about Jet Ski Rental Rules and Requirements. Thanks for sharing.
Can a 17 year old who has taken the test and received the temporary license in Pensacola drive your jet ski?
Good morning, can i rent this and go to the crab island?
What is the law in regards to having my personal water craft and parking it on the beach?
did you found out anything about your question? im interested to know also…
I’m renting a pontoon from the site and is wondering how I would be able to rent a jet ski too?
How do we make a reservation and schedule for testing